11 players who got out hit-wicket in IPL

Hardik Pandya got out hit-wicket yesterday in game 5 of IPL 2020 and it was the 11th time in the history of the IPL that a batsman got out hit-wicket. The Mumbai Indians all-rounder was truly shocked the way he was dismissed.

Hit-wicket has never been an usual mode of dismissal in the game of cricket, but it has always been a very interesting mode of dismissal because the batsman gets himself out on his own and the bowler plays no role in the dismissal at all. It’s like self-destruction.

One of the reasons why it happens more often in the shorter formats of the game is because the batsman is always looking to use the depth of the crease and gets very close to the stumps in the process.


Here are the 11 batsmen who have got out hit-wicket in the IPL so far –

#1 Musavir Khote (2008)

Not a lot of people know about Musavir Khote, but he was the first man ever to get out hit-wicket in the IPL. He was a part of the Mumbai Indians squad and was dismissed hit-wicket in the game against Kings XI Punjab off the bowling of S Sreesanth.

#2 Misbah ul Haq (2008)

The Pakistani players featured in the IPL for just one season in 2008 and Misbah ul Haq represented RCB in the inaugural IPL season. The former Pakistani captain hit his stumps against Kings XI Punjab and incidentally, the bowler was S Sreesanth again.


#3 Swapnil Asnodkar (2009)

Swapnil Asnodkar was a key member of the Rajasthan Royals squad for the first couple of IPL seasons. In 2009, he was facing Albie Morkel in one of the games against Chennai Super Kings where he dismissed himself hitting his own stumps.

#4 Ravindra Jadeja (2012)

This was Ravindra Jadeja’s first season in CSK colors and in that particular match against Deccan Chargers, not only did he score 40 odd, he grabbed 5 wickets as well, but his dismissal came in the form of hit-wicket while he was facing the South African speedster Dale Steyn.

#5 Saurabh Tiwary (2012)

The RCB middle order batsman Saurabh Tiwary was up against his previous team Mumbai Indians in one of the games of IPL 2012 and was batting well at the score of 21, but he suddenly broke his own stumps while facing the MI spinner Harbhajan Singh and had to return to the pavilion.


#6 David Warner (2016)

David Warner was captaining Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2016 and Sunrisers actually won the IPL title that season, but in one of the group games against KXIP, Warner disturbed the furniture behind him by himself off the bowling of the KXIP spinner Axar Patel.

#7 Deepak Hooda (2016)

Apart from Warner, Deepak Hooda was another Sunrisers Hyderabad batsman who hit his own stumps in IPL 2016, but the Hooda was dismissed like that against Delhi Daredevils while he was batting against the Australian fast bowler Nathan Coulter-Nile.

#8 Yuvraj Singh (2016)

Yuvraj Singh was the third Sunrisers batsman to get out hit-wicket in IPL 2016. It was a record because it has never happened that three batsmen of the same team got out hit-wicket on one IPL season. Yuvraj’s dismissal came against Mumbai Indians off the bowling of Mitchell McLenaghan.


#9 Sheldon Jackson (2017)

Sheldon Jackson was playing for Kolkata Knight Riders against Rising Pune Supergiant in IPL 2017 when he got onto his stumps while trying to use the depth of the crease against the bowling of the off spinner Washington Sundar.

#10 Riyan Parag (2019)

Riyan Parag was close to his half-century while playing for Rajasthan Royals in a game against KKR last IPL, but trying to play a pull shot against a short, rising ball from Andre Russell, he hit his stumps with his bat and got out hit-wicket.

#11 Hardik Pandya (2020)

Hardik was also facing Andre Russell last night when he accidentally hit his stumps with his bat. The Mumbai Indians all-rounder was absolutely smashing the ball everywhere before that unfortunate dismissal.



I write a bit on cricket and I am more interested in technical and tactical side of the game, rather than bravado.

Related Articles

Back to top button